Undergraduate Students

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program

This program was authorized by the United States Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. The creation of this program pays tribute to the leadership, courage, and vision of Senator Goldwater and establishes in his name an endowed recognition program to foster and encourage excellence in science and mathematics.

The purpose of this Foundation, as stated in the enabling legislation, is to alleviate a critical current and future shortage of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers. A more realistic statement of the purpose, in today's terms, is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified individuals to those fields of academic study and research. The Foundation is supported by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Fund, which has been established in the Treasury of the United States. Funding for awards and administrative expenses derives from interest on the Trust Fund, invested in U.S. securities.

For more information, visit the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program »

Truman Scholarship

The mission of the Truman Scholarship Foundation is:

  • To find and recognize college juniors with exceptional leadership potential who are committed to careers in government, the nonprofit or advocacy sectors, education, or elsewhere in public service
  • To provide them with financial support for graduate study, leadership training, and fellowship with other students who are committed to making a difference through public service

The Truman Scholarship provides up to $30,000 in funding to students pursuing graduate degrees in public service fields. Students must be college juniors at the time of selection. The Foundation also provides assistance with career counseling, internship placement, graduate school admissions, and professional development. Scholars are invited to participate in a number of programs: Truman Scholar Leadership Week, The Summer Institute, The Truman Fellows Program, and the Public Service Law Conference.

Please visit the For Scholars section of the website for an overview of the programs the Foundation currently offers for Scholars.

For more information, visit the TRUMAN Scholarship »

The Alpha Phi Omega Community Service Award

The Alpha Phi Omega Community Service Award is awarded to three members of the incoming freshman class each fall for involvement in civic engagement and leadership. Application information and the deadline for fall submissions will be announced in the summer preceding each fall semester. The Epsilon Zeta Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega is devoted to leadership, friendship and service at Rensselaer.

2017 recipients: Smriti Moorjani, Phillip B. Kopita, Seunghee Cho, Elizabeth Guzman
2016 recipients: Shannon Hunter
2015 recipients: Yuvraj Chopra, Megan Moquin
2011 recipients: Wen Chenguang, Terrence McGovern, Kathleen Flynn
2009 recipients: Teresa Konopka, Varun Madiath, Stephen Nock
2008 recipient: Olivia Torre
2007 recipient: Brandon Andreola
2005 recipient: Adam Pasquale
2004 recipients: Tripali Kundu, Si Ming Lee, and Daniel Schwarting
2003 recipients: Farheen Shaikh, Cynthia Tang, and Jason Williams

For more information on this community service award, visit the Alpha Phi Omega »


Graduate Students

RHODES Scholarship

The Rhodes Scholarships are the oldest and most celebrated international fellowship awards in the world. Rhodes Scholars are chosen not only for their outstanding scholarly achievements, but for their character, commitment to others and to the common good, and for their potential for leadership in whatever domains their careers may lead.

For more information, contact:
Dennis Gornic
Associate Dean for Graduate Education and campus liaison for the RHODES Scholarship program

For more information, visit the RHODES Scholarship »

Fulbright Program

The flagship international educational program sponsored by the United States Government, the Fulbright Program is designed to "increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries..." With this goal, the Fulbright Program has provided approximately 275,000 participants, chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential, with the opportunity to observe each others' political, economic, educational and cultural institutions, to exchange ideas and to embark on joint ventures of importance to the general welfare of the world's inhabitants.

The Fulbright Program provides grants in the United States and other countries for:

  • Graduate Students
  • Scholars and Professionals
  • Teachers and Administrators

For more information, visit The Fulbright Program »

The Urban Fellows Programs

Since 1969, the Urban Fellows Program has introduced America’s finest college graduates to local government and public service. The nine-month program, which offers a paid stipend of $25,000, combines full time employment with a comprehensive seminar series exploring the mechanics of local government and electoral politics as well as important issues facing the City. Fellows come to appreciate the wide range of challenges in New York City government from the budget process to agency operations, affordable housing to affordable health care, and education to economic development.

The unique opportunity to work with current decision makers distinguishes the Urban Fellows Program as the premier training program in the public arena. Alumni are consistently found in leadership positions throughout the government as well as the private and non-profit sector.

For more information, visit The Urban Fellows Program »